1. Woodinville Memorial
Mead -- NE 175th
and 132 Ave NE. - A Washington Centennial 89 plaque adorns the cemetery
front fence with the words First used for burials in the late 1870s.
It was officially deeded to the citizens of Woodinville on April 4, 1898
by Ira & Susan Woodin. A white pergola is provided in the northwest
corner for thoughtful meditation. The southwest corner contains a
flagpole and a rock fountain. In the
northeast corner sits a unique anvil headstone remembering the village
blacksmith, Johann P. Koch.
2. Woodinville School-- 13203 NE
175th St. - The brick building was originally built in 1909
to replace a series of expanding wood schoolhouse structures since the
early 1890s. With one existing brick wall left intact, funding
was obtained and the federal Work Progress Administration added to the
school in 1936 bring it to its current size. The building is now vacant but
the outer walls are still considered a historical landmark.
-- 14810 NE 145th Street. - The Hollywood Schoolhouse was
built in 1912 to replace an earlier one-room wooden frame building for
students in Derby School District #83. It was named after
the holly that once lined the road leading into the nearby Hollywood
Farm and Stimson Manor.
4. Stimson Manor-- 14111 NE 145th
Street - The 1912 Stimson Manor was wealthy Seattle lumberman Fred
Stimsons vacation home and weekend country retreat for his Seattle
guests. It became a more permanent residence as he became more involved
in the dairy farm (Hollywood Farm) and greenhouses constructed
surrounding Stimson Manor. The house and grounds are listed on the
National Register of Historic Sites. The Stimson Manor and Cottage
House are owned and located on the grounds of what is now Chateau Ste.
Michelle and are viewable from the outside by the public.
Historical Photographs and some text courtesy of Eastside Heritage Center.